Welcome to the Mississippi Hills

Welcome to the official website of the Mississippi Hills National Heritage Area (MHNHA), designated by Congress and the President in April of 2009. Bounded approximately by Interstate 55 to the west and Highway 14 to the south, MHNHA covers 19 full counties and portions of 11 others in the northeastern part of the Magnolia state.

MHNHA represents a distinctive cultural landscape shaped largely by the dynamic intersection of Appalachian and Delta cultures, an intersection which produced a powerful concentration of nationally-significant cultural icons. Lasting contributions to our country's musical and literary legacies were forged by Hills natives Elvis Presley, William Faulkner, Tennessee Williams, Howlin' Wolf, Jerry Lee Lewis, John Grisham and Tammy Wynette.

MHNHA seeks to interpret and share the stories of these individuals, as well as the legacies of Civil Rights pioneers James Meredith and Ida B. Wells-Barnett. MHNHA also focuses on lesser-known figures of historical and cultural interest, as well as events of significance to our nation's history that took place within our borders.

MHNHA is filled with vibrant communities that share a common geography and history, and we invite you to learn about our rich and diverse culture, as well as our people, places, and defining moments. MHNHA is your window on this compelling portion of America's past, and this website highlights the historic, cultural, natural, scenic, and recreational treasures of the Mississippi Hills.


Hills Celebrities

Like Us On Facebook

Annual Report

2013 Annual Report

Heritage Area Map

Mississippi Hills National Heritage Area

MS Hills Visitors Center

Website Made Possible By